According to the Max Planck Society’s rules, and in order to safeguard the high quality of scientific production of the Institutes’ research on a long-term basis, the IBioBA-CONICET-MPSP routinely undergoes scientific evaluations by independent scientific advisors – the Scientific Advisory Board.

The members are internationally recognized scientists from prestigious Institutions, appointed by the President of the Max Planck Society.

Scientific Advisory Board of IBioBA

  • Dr. Damasia Becu -Villalobos. Institute of Biology and Experimental Medicine. Buenos Aires, Argentina.
  • Dr. Laura Borodinsky. Institute for Pediatric Regenerative Medicine, Shriners Hospital for Children, University of California Davis School of Medicine. USA.
  • Dr. Jens Brüning. Max Planck Institute for Metabolism Research. Cologne, Germany.
  • Dr. Rafael Cantera. Institute of Biological Research Clemente Estable. Montevideo, Uruguay.
  • Dr. Aaron Ciechanover. Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2004. Technion- Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel.
  • Dr. Anne Schäfer. Max Planck Institute for Biology of Ageing. Cologne, Germany.
  • Dr. Alejandro Vila. Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology of Rosario. Argentina.
  • Dr. Herbert Waldmann. Max Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology. Dortmund, Germany.


Previous members of the Scientific Advisory Board of IBioBA

  • Dr. Luis Barbeito. Pasteur Institute of Montevideo. Montevideo, Uruguay.
  • Dr. Nils Brose. Max Planck Institute for Multidisciplinary Sciences. Göttingen, Germany.
  • Dr. Marcelo Kazanietz. University of Pennsylvania. USA.
  • Dr. Linda Partridge. Max Planck Institute for Biology of Ageing. Cologne, Germany.
  • Dr. Erika Pearce. Max Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics. Freiburg, Germany.